“Out of My Mind” by Sharon M. Draper

I sat here thinking, how am I going to describe this book? I found it difficult because it is completely original and there is nothing like it.

“Out of My Mind” is about a girl named Melody who has cerebral palsy. She has a photographic memory. All of her teachers, doctors, and everyone in her life has doubted her ability to understand anything. Everybody, except her neighbor who would look after her while her parents went to work. The neighbor didn’t treat her like she was just another disabled person, she treated her like normal and taught her to communicate.

I find it difficult to write a review about this book because I want to tell you everything and every little story that happened. But that wouldn’t be nice right?

The underlying theme for this book is that Melody is frustrated that people are underestimating her and she isn’t able to communicate so that they understand her. Her mind is so brilliant.

For instance, she joins a group that goes to academic competitions. She feels different because she’s the only person with a disability in the class. The majority treat her no different but one girl is blatantly mean.

This book needs to be read by everyone. If you are a parent and your kids are too young to read it alone, read it out loud to them. If you are in middle school or high school, pick it and just read it. If you’re an adult, read it. Whatever age you are, it is important that you read this book. It can change your perspective for people with disabilities.

I’m going to close with this thought. I struggled because I didn’t want to say “disabled person.” I feel like when I said that or I hear someone say that, that you’re just defining them. When we say this we make it that they aren’t just a person, but a disabled person. What I have come to learn from this book and conversations with my mom is that a better way to say this is a person with disabilities. Because they are a person FIRST who just happens to have a disability.

We shouldn’t define them because they define themselves.

Leave a comment